Skip to main content

The Eight Auspicious Symbols of Tibetan Buddhism

As a combination of eight mascots in Tibetan tradition, the Eight Auspicious Symbols are the most common symbols around Tibet. Those who come for a Tibet tour could find them depicted in most places there like Thangka, the floors of some monasteries, and most of the Tibetan’ houses. The 8 auspicious symbols are bound up with Buddha and the Buddhist culture. The origin of these symbols could date back to the age of Buddha even earlier. Besides Tibetan areas and India, the 8 auspicious symbols can be also found in some countries of Asia.

The Eight Auspicious Symbols including The Lotus, The Auspicious Knot, The Twin Golden Fishes, The Parasol, The Canopy of Victory, The Wheel of The Law, The Dragon Vase, and The White Conch. Each of them is a symbolic representation of Buddhist teaching and blessing.

The Lotus

The Lotus symbolizes the tongue of Buddha. It’s usually described as the symbol of purity. In the tradition of Tibetan Buddhism, the lotus means the highest state of spirituality. The Buddhists say that the Buddha nature comes out with the blossom of a lotus. The lotus flowers rise unsullied from mud symbolize that Buddha and Bodhisattva have transcended the secular world and have entered the world of eternity. The root of the lotus will still live even the flowers have faded, this Symbolizes the souls of human will still exist and fall into the samsara after their death.

The Auspicious Knot

The Auspicious Knot is said to be the mind of Buddha. It’s also called the knot of infinite. The Buddhists believe that this knot is a symbol of all the theories and philosophies about the universe. If they follow the teachings of Buddha, they can get the pearls of wisdom and awakening from the sea of life.

The Twin Golden Fishes

As the eyes of the Buddha, The Twin Golden Fishes is the symbol of free and disengagement. It’s a metaphor of the Gymnosophists who have escaped from all the suffering and achieve perfection. In the tradition of Tibetan Buddhism, a pair of golden fishes not only means free, but also means recovery, Eternal life, and renascence.

The Parasol

In the times of ancient India, when the nobles and royals went out, they used the parasols to protect them from the solarization. As time goes by, the parasol became an appliance used by the guard of honor as a symbol of supreme authority. The Parasol is said to have the power to resist evil spirit and guard Buddha Dharma.

The Canopy of Victory

The Canopy of Victory once was an army flag used in some area of ancient India. It means the annoyance and evil source of a man have been removed. Also, it was the metaphor of solutions to deal with the eleven annoyances.

The Wheel of The Law

The wheel is a kind of powerful weapon In the old ages of India. Later it was used as a reference by Buddhism to symbolize that Buddha Dharma is like a wheel revolving without stopping.

The Dragon Vase

The Dragon Vase is the symbol of Amitabha with the meaning of eternal soul. It can be found in most of the temples in Tibet. The Buddhists there believe that this talisman has a magic power and it can bring the believers happiness and wisdom.

The White Conch

According to the Buddhist scripture, when Sakyamuni told the truth of life to his followers, his voice was like the sound made by conch and could be heard by the whole world. The dextral white conch is one of the most precious things in Tibet and it was said to be the voices which can be heard in the boundless universe.

>>Find more about Tibet travel


Popular posts from this blog

How to Plan A Tibet Tour

Are you expecting a journey to Tibet? Do you know how to plan a wonderful Tibet tour? After searching a great number of documents online, here I’d like to share a complete Tibet tour guide for you.

From the ancient time to the resent, Tibet is a hot tourist destination for travelers from home and abroad. Abounding with rich natural resources and majestic scenic spots, Tibet enjoys a high reputation in the world. Every year, a large number of international tourists head to Tibet for the purpose of exploring the mysterious Tibetan Buddhism, splendid snow-capped mountains, crystal-like lakes, and splendid temples and monasteries. There are some tips about Tibetan culture and tour, which may help you arrange an unforgettable trip in Tibet.

Some Major Festivals in Tibet

Tibetan New Year is the most vital festival in Tibet. The date of Tibetan New Year is stipulated based on traditional Tibetan lunar calendar. During this festival, Tibetans will visit friends and relatives and enjoy some de…

Tibetan Festival Tour

As one of the members of Chinese big family, Tibet is a special region located in the west of this boundless area. Owing to the unique Tibetan culture and customs, the festivals in Tibet have their own characteristics which attract a great number of travelers in the world. Traveling to Tibet during the grand Tibetan festivals is the best way to learn about Tibetans and Tibetan history. With many years’ history of Buddhism, lots of traditional festivals in Tibet have a close relationship with Tibetan Buddhism. Today, let me guide you to have a wonderful Tibetan festival tour.

Tibetan New Year

As the most important festival in Tibet, Tibetan New Year is always held in the first month of Tibetan lunar calendar. The grand festival will last for a whole month. In the first day, all the Tibetans will head to Tibetan monasteries and temples to do pray for the purpose of seeking blessings from the Buddha. What Tibetan New Year is to Tibetans is what Christmas is to westerns. During this perio…